Meet Us

Board of Trustees:

The RPS has a governing Council who work with the Chief Operating Officer, HQ staff and Advisory Board to ensure that The RPS is run smoothly, maintains/sets standards and embraces change

Board of Trustees members are elected by the membership every two years. The Officers, in conjunction with the rest of the Board of Trustees, may also co-opt up to to three additional members to the Board of Trustees. These are people who bring particular skills or expertise.  

If you are interested in becoming a Trustee please click here for more information. 

For information on our: Council elections 2019

Our current Board of Trustees members are listed below:

Alan Hodgson 

Dr Alan Hodgson ASIS FRPS

Alan has held leadership positions in a number of professional societies including as board member and president of the Society for Imaging Science & Technology serving on their nominations, audit and finance committees.

He has been a committee member of the Institute of Physics Printing and Graphics Science Group for the past 10 years, including a period as Chair.

He has been involved in the UK leadership of International Standards for Photography since 2005 and is a visiting academic to the School of Materials at the University of Manchester.

Carol McNivern Young 

Carol McNiven Young FRPS

Carol graduated in Economics at Nottingham University and is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Marketing. She worked in senior brand marketing roles in various divisions of Boots plc including the start-ups of Boots Opticians and She later moved into the education sector developing additional skills in development and fundraising and was Marketing and Development Director at two schools before becoming a senior education marketing consultant until her recent retirement.

Originally from the north-east of England, Carol lives in Nottinghamshire where she is also active in her local photographic society, is a regional judge and gives lectures. 

Janet Haines ARPS

Janet Haines ARPS

Janet’s career in sales, marketing and business relationship management in emerging markets, has inspired an interest in creating successful teams. She believes that a strong, open, honest management style delivers the best results and good staff relationships.

Over the past few years, Janet has used many of the skills she developed over her career in her RPS volunteer roles including: Chair of the Digital Imaging Group (DIG), Joint Organiser of the Benelux Chapter and LRPS Assessor.

In the Netherlands, where she currently lives, Janet led the RPS Rockin’ Rotterdam project, in which 100+ individuals were tasked with photographing all 3000+ streets in the city. During her six-year tenancy of the DIG Chair role, the Group went from strength to strength, focusing on inspiring and educational new initiatives for the benefit of members.

Simon Hill

Simon Hill FRPS

Joining the RPS as a teenager, Simon progressed through the Society’s distinctions before graduating from St Martins School of Art.  Today, he divides his professional time between being an award-winning professional editorial and documentary photographer and designing museum and gallery exhibitions in the UK and Europe.  Simon brings a diverse range of skills to the Society’s Council.  He holds an Institute of Directors Diploma in Company Direction and has held directorships on the board of over a dozen UK and European companies.  He has been a Trustee of several arts and educational organisations including the Open College of the Arts.  He is a qualified Member of the Chartered Society of Designers and was previously a Chartered Marketer and Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Marketing, a Fellow of the Royal Society of the Arts, a Fellow of the Institute of Directors and remains an active Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society.

The RPS House, Bristol staff team:

Awaiting Image Female 
Kimmi Barry
Front of House Officer 
         Awaiting Image Female
Nikki McCoy
Finance and 
Administration Manager

Simon Bibb
Membership Manager

Andy Moore LRPS
Distinctions Manager

Awaiting Image Female
Aisling Bradley
        Awaiting Image Female
Roxanne Moore
Front-of-House Officer

Debbie Cant
Membership Assistant

        Michael Pritchard
Dr Michael
Pritchard FRPS
Director of Education 
and Public Affairs

 Awaiting Image Female
Lowri Clyesdale
Website Administrator

Jackie Rumble
Finance Assistant

Emma Delves-
Broughton FRPS
Workshop Coordinator 
Sally Smart ARPS
Exhibitions Manager
Gary Evans   Gary Evans ASIS FRPS
  Science Exhibition 

         Awaiting Image Male
Matt Steele
 Finance and HR Assistant

Ben Fox ARPS
Distinctions Assistant
        Awaiting Image Female 
Billy-Jay Stoneman
Exhibitions Assistant

Awaiting Image Female
Kate Constance
        Mike Taylor
Mike Taylor
Chief Operating 

Alan Hitch 
Alan Hitch
IT Support Officer

         Simon Vercoe
Simon Vercoe LRPS
Distinctions Assistant

 Awaiting Image Male
Paul Jones Parry
Building Operations 
         Liz Williams
Liz Williams
  Education Manager

Jo Macdonald
Jo Macdonald
  Awards Manager
        Awaiting Image Male
Nathan Woodman
  Membership Assistant
 Emily Mathisen
Web Content Manager


For department contact details please click here

For the Staff Organisation Chart, please click here