The Society has a number of standing committees which advise Council on various matters. Subcommittees where extant are indicated. 


Janine Freeston ARPS (SIGs)

Cheryl Newman FRPS (Awards Chair)
Ray Spence FRPS (Distinctions Chair)
Anne Williams (Education Chair)
Derek Trendell ARPS (Finance Chair)
Mary Crowther ARPS (Regions Chair)
Bruce Broughton-Tompkins LRPS (Regions Chair)
John Riley (Groups Chair)
Chas Hockin (Groups Chair)
Bob Tapper (Science Chair)
Roy Thomas (PAGB Representative)
Naomi Galliford (Volunteering Manager)
Simon Bibb (Membership Manager)
TBC (Overseas)



Cheryl Newman FRPS

Internal Members:

Robert Albright HonFRPS (President)
Del Barrett ARPS (Vice President)
Derek Trendell ARPS (Treasurer)
Mike Taylor (Chief Operating Officer)
Dr Michael Pritchard (Director, Education & Public Affairs)
Bob Tapper ASIS FRPS (Science chair)
Ray Spence, FRPS (Distinctions chair)
Anne Williams (Education Chair)
Martin Barnes (Senior Curator, Photographs,V & A)

External Members: 

Anne Braybon (Creative Director & Photographic Historian)
Shoir Mavlian (Director Photoworks)
Hannah Watson (Director, Trolley Books and TJ Boulting)
Brandei Estes (Head of Photographs, Sotheby’s London)
Emma Bowkett (Director of Photography, FT Weekend Magazine)
Dr Lucy Soutter (Artist, Critic, Art Historian)
Fiona Rogers (Global Director, Business Development, Magnum Photos)
Matt Mueller (Editor in Chief, Screen International, London)


Ray Spence FRPS (Chair)

Roy Robertson HonFRPS
Sue Brown FRPS
Simon Leach FRPS
Ravi Deepres FRPS
Peter Hayes FRPS
Douglas May FRPS
Andy Golding ASICI FRPS

The members of the 
Fellowship Committee and Distinction Panels, 
Imaging Science and Creative Industry Boards 
can be seen here


Anne Williams (Chair)

Liz Allen
Lisa Barnard FRPS
Anthony Luvera
Aaron Schuman
Paul Seawright FRPS
Katrina Sluis
Jon Nicholls
Chris Francis
Shannon Ghannam
Joy Gregory
Janice McLaren
Steve McLeod
Mark Sealy
Lucy Keany
Richard Bradford ARPS
Mary Crowther ARPS
Dr Ian Smith FRPS


Jenny Knowles (Committee Chair)
             Derek Trendell ARPS (Chair, Treasurer)
Philip Brown (Committee Member)
Robert Albright HonFRPS (President)
Del Barrett ARPS (Vice President 
Nikki McCoy (Finance Manager)

The Investment subcommittee is chaired 
by the Treasurer


Bob Tapper ASIS FRPS (Chair)

Dr Afzal Ansary ASIS FRPS
Gary Evans ASIS FRPS
Prof Francis Ring ASIS FRPS
Dr Alan Hodgson ASIS FRPS
Dr Sophie Triantaphillidou ASIS FRPS
Prof Caroline Wilkinson


A representative from each Society special interest group


Gilly Read FRPS (Historical)
Howard Fisher LRPS (Contemporary)

Richard Wiliams (Analogue)

Gwilym Owen ARPS (Archaeology & Heritage)
Howard Bagshaw ARPS (Audio Visual)
Steve Varman LRPS (Creative Eye)
Chas Hockin LRPS (Digital Imaging)

Mark Phillips ARPS (Documentary)
Gary Evans ASIS FRPS (Imaging Science)
Richard Ellis LRPS (Landscape)
Afzal Ansary ASIS FRPS (Medical)
David O'Neill LRPS (Nature)
John Riley LRPS (Travel)
Andreas Klatt ARPS (Visual Art)
Caroline Gannon (Women in Photography)


A representative from each Society Region


Bruce Broughton-Tompkins LRPS (South East)

Mary Crowther ARPS (Yorkshire)



Mike Sharples ARPS (Central)

Jonathan Vaines LRPS (East Anglia)

Stewart Wall ARPS (East Midlands)

Michael O’Sullivan FRPS (Eire)

Judy Hicks LRPS (London)

Rolf Kraehenbuehl (North Wales)

Roy Appleby LRPS (North West)

Bob Gates ARPS (Northern)

Richard Corbett (Northern Ireland)

James Frost FRPS (Scotland)

Rhys Jones ARPS (South Wales)

Tim Sanders LRPS (South West)

Paul Cox ARPS (Southern)

Mark Buckley-Sharp ARPS (Thames Valley)

David Norfolk ARPS (Western)