STFC Photowalk 2014

05 April 2014

Competitions, Society news

The Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), supported by The Royal Photographic Society will host their third photo walk, providing photographers ‘behind-the-scenes’ access to world leading scientific research facilities at each of the main STFC sites within the UK – UK Astronomy Technology Centre in Edinburgh, Daresbury Laboratory in Cheshire, the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory in Oxfordshire and Chilbolton Observatory in Hampshire. Eight dates are available during June and July.

The photo walk is free to enter and open to amateur and professional photographers. Entrants must book in advance and be governed by the rules and terms and conditions - only photographs taken on the day following the official programme may be entered into the competition.

Each participant may, if they wish, enter a maximum of five photos which will be judged regionally by a nominated professional panel. A regional prize will be awarded and the best 10 photographs from each site will be entered into a national competition. The final 40 pictures from across the sites will be judged by the general public, the community and staff via the website and an overall online winner awarded. A total of 10 images (the 4 regional winners and the next top 6 from the online vote) will then be judged by a panel of professional scientists and photographers to award the national prize.

STFC prizes will be awarded as follows:

Each regional site and the online vote winner will receive £250 of vouchers.

The overall national winner will receive the choice of a trip to CERN with one guest or £750 of vouchers.

The prizes will be as stated and cannot be deferred or transferred.There will be no cash alternatives.

The winners, and other selected photos will be displayed on the STFC and The Royal Photographic Society websites and used publicly by STFC at various venues.

Read more and enter by clicking the link here.

Image: Lisa Ward, The 25m Chilbolton Dish antenna, 2012 overall UK Photowalk winner