KKF Book Awards

06 March 2014

Industry news, Publications

The Kraszna-Krausz Foundation has revealed the shortlist for the 2014 Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards for photography and moving image books. The Foundation also announces Philippa Brewster as the recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Award in recognition of her long-standing dedication to and impact on the visual publishing industry.

The KKF Book Awards are the UK’s leading prizes for books published in the field of photography and the moving image. The shortlisted books, which range from stunningly executed personal photography projects to academic books tackling previously unexplored topics, will now compete for a share of the £10,000 prize. The winners will be announced on 30 April at the Sony World Photography Awards gala ceremony held in London.

Along with 14 highly commended titles across the two categories, the shortlisted books will be displayed at Somerset House, London from 1-18 May as part of the 2014 Sony World Photography Awards Exhibition.

Best Photography Book Award 

The shortlist, chosen by curator and critic Kate Bush (chair), FT Weekend Magazine Photo Editor Emma Bowkett and landscape photographer/ Head of Department, Fine Art Photography, Glasgow School of Art Thomas Joshua Cooper, is:

  • History of Photography in China: Chinese Photographers 1844-1879 by Terry Bennett (Bernard Quaritch Ltd)
  • The Enclave, Photographs by Richard Mosse, by Anna O'Sullivan and Jason Stearns (Aperture)
  • Sergio Larrain: Vagabond Photographer by Agnès Sire and Gonzalo Leiva Quijada (Thames & Hudson)

The judges also recognised and highly commended the following titles:

  • Afghan Box Camera by Lukas Birk and Sean Foley (Dewi Lewis Publishing)
  • Charles Marville: Photographer of Paris by Sarah Kennel (University of Chicago Press)
  • Davide Monteleone: SPASIBO by Galia Ackermann and Masha Gessen (Kehrer Verlag Heidelberg)
  • Henk Wildschut: Food by Henk Wildschut (Post Editions)
  • Philip-Lorca diCorcia: Hustlers by Philip-Lorca diCorcia (SteidlDangin)
  • The Canaries by Thilde Jensen (LENA Publications)
  • Twentieth-Century Color Photographs: Identification and Care by Sylvia Penichon (Getty Publications/Thames & Hudson)

Chair Kate Bush commented: “This award is unique in honouring every dimension of a photography book: its cultural originality and its intellectual contribution - as well as its artistic and design value. Our long and short lists reflect a year of vibrant international photography publishing. Thrilling monographs by rising young stars sit alongside works of scrupulous scholarship. Fresh approaches to classic bodies of photography - rediscovered for new generations – take their place beside vernacular imagery found in unexpected places. Art photography, photojournalism, documentary: the wide repertoire of current photographic culture is reflected in our shortlist this year, and each book on the list has surprised and impressed the judges in different ways.”

Best Moving Image Book Award 

The jury - Dave Calhoun (chair), Global Film Editor for the Time Out Group, along with Sean Cubitt, Professor of Film and Television, Goldsmiths and Robert Rider, Head of Cinema at the Barbican – selected a shortlist comprising:

  • Charles Urban: Pioneering the Non-Fiction Film in Britain and America, 1897 - 1925 by Luke McKernan (University of Exeter Press)
  • Hollywood and Hitler, 1933-1939 by Thomas Doherty (Columbia University Press)
  • Moving Innovation: A History of Computer Animation by Tom Sito (MIT Press)

The jury also recognised and highly commended the following titles:

  • Cinematic Appeals: The Experience of New Movie Technologies by Ariel Rogers (Columbia University Press)
  • Hollywood in the New Millennium by Tino Bailo (British Film Institute/Palgrave Macmillan Higher Education)
  • Italian Silent Cinema: A Reader edited by Giorgio Bertellini (John Libbey Publishing Ltd., 2013)
  • Seeing is Believing: The Politics of the Visual by Rod Stoneman (Black Dog Publishing)
  • The Documentary Film Book by Brian Winston (British Film Institute/Palgrave Macmillan Higher Education)
  • The Making of Return of the Jedi: The Definitive Story Behind the Film by J.W. Rinzler (Aurum Press Ltd)
  • The World is Ever Changing by Nicolas Roeg (Faber & Faber)

On behalf of the judges, Chair Dave Calhoun commented: "The jury was impressed by the variety of submissions for the prize. The eligible books straddled a wide range of approaches to popular and academic writing and represented the pleasing breadth of current publishing on cinema, including memoirs, studies of individual films and filmmakers, explorations of national cinemas and insights into particular aspects of the filmmaking craft. Each of the three shortlisted books was superbly written and researched and offered new perspectives on cinema from very different angles.

Outstanding Contribution to Publishing

Philippa BrewsterPhilippa Brewster, Senior Editor, Visual Culture at I.B. Tauris was announced as the recipient of the Kraszna-Krausz Foundation’s Outstanding Contribution to Publishing award.

In a career spanning more than 40 years working for some of the biggest book publishers, Philippa Brewster’s contribution to the visual publishing industry is impressive in terms of both its scope and its impact.
Her career began at Routledge in 1971 where she was responsible for starting the cinema list and edited many books here including: Cahiers du Cinema, a four volume collection of writing from Cahiers in conjunction with the BFI (1986); Spaghetti Westerns by Christopher Frayling (1981) – many times reprinted - and Old Mistresses by Rozsika Parker and Griselda Pollock (1980), the first ever exploration of how women artists have been critically constructed.

In 1981 Brewster set up the imprint Pandora Press at Routledge to concentrate on publishing feminist non-fiction. Some titles from this period include: Let Us Now Praise Famous Women by Andrea Fisher, Women’s Pictures by Annette Kuhn and Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson (1985).
Brewster joined Jonathan Cape in 1991. In 1993 she moved to her current publisher, I.B. Tauris and while here she has built up the visual culture list from scratch, particularly focusing on the moving image and photography.

Highlights at I.B. Tauris, which now has visual culture at its core, include Land Matters by Liz Wells and Eisenstein on the Audiovisual by Robert Robertson (winner of the KKF Moving Image book award, 2009) plus series such as the World Cinema Series and the Reading Television series.

Brewster also instigated academic publishing on Doctor Who and one of these books, Inside the Tardis by James Chapman, was Tauris’ bestselling book of 2013. She is now working on the ‘Behind the Silver Screen: A New History of Filmmaking’ series of ten volumes focusing on the collaborative nature of filmmaking; the first books, on Cinematography and Art Direction, are to be published in September 2014.

Speaking on behalf of the Kraszna-Krausz Foundation, Chair Michael G. Wilson comments: “Philippa Brewster is the Kraszna-Krausz Foundation’s 2014 Outstanding Contribution to Publishing recipient in recognition for her long-standing service to the visual publishing industry. Her career at both Routledge and I.B. Tauris exemplifies the highest standards of production of a wide breadth and depth of titles. Philippa's history of working closely with authors and artists to bring rigorous books to life for audiences worldwide sets her apart among her peers."

Past recipients of the award include: Thomas Neurath, Thames & Hudson; Gerhard Steidl of Steidl and Dewi Lewis of Dewi Lewis Publishing.