Extraordinary General Meeting

14 December 2016

Society news

An Extraordinary General Meeting of the Society has been called to discuss a resolution which looks to separate the role of President and chair of the trustees. All members have been mailed a proxy vote form which outlines arguments for and against the resolution. The form must be received at Fenton House by Tuesday, 17 January 2017 at 10.15am (it may be posted or emailed back)

The EGM takes place on Thursday, 19 January 2017 at 10.15am and the outcome will be reported here later that day. It would be helpful that anyone wishing to attend in person advises the Society as space at Fenton House is limited. 

A copy of the EGM document can be downloaded here.

Dr Michael Pritchard FRPS
Chief Executive
e: michael@rps.org

15 December 2016

19 December 2016

Since the notice was sent out a number of members have asked for more information, particularly in terms of membership and distinction numbers. These are set out below. 

The Society's Annual Report and Accounts are available from 2008 here and these give detailed information about its operations and financial position.  The Society's governing and management documents are also available at the same link.

  2016  2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010

 920  (1) 1098 1248 1128 1116 900 1025


 353 (1) 483 479 515 529 427 579
 11,627 (2)  11,434  11,092  10,831  10,652  10,416  10,132 

Notes: (1) Subject to final confirmation;  (2) November 2016

5 January 2017

A number of members have asked for the names of the EGM proposers. They are: 

Dave Allen; Liz Brown; Mike Chopra-Gant; Neil Cordell; Jillian Edelstein HonFRPS; Peter Fraser HonFRPS; Brian Griffin HonFRPS; Ilya Fisher; Mo Greig; Jennifer Hurstfield; Graham Land; A P McCarthy; Désirée Muller; Kevin Newman; Martin Parr HonFRPS; Jen Pedler; Eric Richard; Deirdre Robinson; N E Smith; Lionel Squire; R Towell; Susie Ward; plus four members who have requested that their names are not published.