Andre Stenin International Photo contest 2016 shortlist

20 May 2016


The shortlist has been announced for the Andrei Stenin International Press Photo Contest. The contest is named in honor of the late Rossiya Segodnya photojournalist Andrei Stenin and is run by Rossiya Segodnya under the auspices of the Russian Federation Commission for UNESCO. The contest in 2016 has set a new record in terms of entries from young photographers hailing from 71 countries stretching across 5 continents. The shortlist comprises photographers from 10 countries, including Russia, China, Syria, Italy, Spain and Israel. The full shortlist is published on the competition’s official website (


The winners will be announced on August 4,  2016. The award ceremony, Grand Prix announcement and the opening ceremony of the related exhibition will take place in Moscow on August 30, 2016. Traditionally, the winning entries are exhibited in Russia and abroad before the end of the year.

"This year the competition has shown record-breaking results in terms of the quality and composition of the entries. In addition, the competition exceeded last year's results, collected about 6,000 works by young photojournalists  from 71 countries and from all 5 continents. We are very proud that we are able to enter the names of young photojournalists into the annals of history", - Alexander Shtol, director of Rossiya Segodnya’s Photo Information Directorate, commented on the contest results.

The 2016 jury is composed of leaders in the international and Russian worlds of photography and art, and headed by Associated Press deputy director of photography, Denis Paquin. The entries by young photographers are being considered by the jury in five categories: Breaking News, Sport, My Country, Portraits: A Hero of Our Time and World Colors. Harmony of Life. The entries were divided into two streams - series and individual images - before the jury drew up a shortlist and voted to determine the winners.


Image: Antón Unitsin, Russia, Flying high, short-listed for the 2016 Andre Stenin International Press Photo contest.