Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.
Find out more
Shining Lotus
CREDIT: Ann Rosemary Belcher LRPS

Digital Imaging Competition

RPS Digital Imaging

For 2023/4 we have a newly designed annual digital imaging competition for DI members.

Gone is the old style comp where everyone entered one of the two classes – in comes the opportunity to enter each of the 5 rounds, with a final 6th round to decide the overall winner of the Raymond Wallace Thompson trophy.

The aim of this new format is to encourage new work; to inspire you to shoot specifically for the subject. The topics will be broad enough to allow a lot of scope for interpretation, different techniques and styles. Members will also be invited to vote in Rounds 1 to 5, and the top 5 go through to the final Round 6, when we will invite eminent assessors to select the final awards.

  • You have the chance to be one of the top 5 winners each round, who will be featured in DI Online.
  • You do not have to enter each round to ultimately become one of the finalists.
  • Whatever your style of work you can enter each round. Mono, coloured, toned, ICM, creative - whatever you wish.

The Round topics will be announced 2 months prior to the submission date. Work will need to be no more than 6 months old and must not have been entered into any other DI competition.

We have a new image submission web site, which is easy to use and will also provide the gallery for viewing all images entered into each round. Voting will be hidden during the voting period, but opened up for you to see your score the following month. The links for submission will be added here when submission opens.

Obviously there are new rules and it is essential that you download these to read. They are NOT available on the submission web site. We have also prepared some FAQs. For further questions email our competition secretary Kenneth Ness FRPS on

Download the rules | Download the FAQs

Round 1 starts on 1 August 2023.

  • Subject is – Flora and/or Fauna (insects included, but not domesticated animals)
  • Submission opens 1 October 2023 and closes 31 October 2023.
  • Voting opens 1 November 2023 and closes 24 November 2023.
  • Results announced 30 November 2023.
  • Winners displayed in DI Online December issue.

The Round 2 topic will be announced on 1 October 2023.

About the Projected Image Competition


Winners over the years

  • 2022: Rachel Dunsdon LRPS
  • 2021: Colin Douglas ARPS
  • 2020: Dennis Russ LRPS
  • 2019: Dr Seshi Middela LRPS
  • 2018: Sue Dixon LRPS
  • 2017: Brian McCarthy ARPS
  • 2016: Adrian Lines ARPS
  • 2015: Adrian Lines ARPS
  • 2014: Peter Clark FRPS EFIAP/p APSA MPSA
  • 2013: Pam Sherren ARPS
  • 2012: Martin Chapman ARPS
  • 2011: Marilyn Taylor ARPS
RWT Trophy
Raymond Wallace Thompson Trophy