

## Chairman's Report for the 2023 AGM 28 October 2023 Ian Bateman FRPS MPAGB AV-EFIAP APAGB

This has been my first year as Chair of the AV Group, and has seen the transition from the all-on-line events of the previous "Covid years" to the post-lockdown environment of a mixture of on-line and live events. This will probably be the 'newnorm', with both type of meetings having their advantages and disadvantages.

After managing to dodge Covid when the virus was at its peak, I finally succumbed in late September so had to miss the RPS International AV Festival for the first time in thirty years! Fortunately, this was a hybrid event so I was at least able to watch it over Zoom. All credit to Edgar Gibbs and his team of Linda Gibbs, Andrew and Christine Gagg, Sheila Haycox, Keith Leedham, Robert Albright and Alastair Taylor, and to Howard Bagshaw for taking on the role of official photographer.

The IAVF took place in the Tony Troman Theatre at RPS House, and a lot was said about Tony over the weekend. Although he will have been well-known to some, I'm conscious that more recent members will not have known him at all. He served as Secretary on the IAVF Committee since its inception in 1976.



I was the Chair of the IAVF Committee when he retired in 2012, and we presented him with a special award to commemorate his years of service. He died the following year, and in his will left the bequest that enabled the RPS to fund the theatre that now bears his name.

(photo by Howard Bagshaw)

The Committee have done a sterling job over the last twelve months in keeping the AV Group running, and I should like to record my thanks to each of them for the work that they have done:

Alastair Taylor — Alastair has had two roles, Treasurer for not just the Group but also the National and International competitions, and Editor of AV News. AV News has gone from strength to strength during his tenure, and he will be standing down at the AGM in 2024. This means that we will be looking for a new editor to take over from then, so please consider if this is something that you could do. Alastair also chaired the National AV Championships in 2022, and this year arranged a showing of the top entries at RPS House, together with short lectures from five of the UK's AV makers.

*Edgar Gibbs* – As well as being the Director of the IAVF, Edgar has also stood in as de facto Vice-Chair, and has continued to lobby key RPS personnel for the reintroduction of the AV Distinction in its own right. Edgar and I had a meeting with Andy Moore of the Distinctions Dept last month, and despite a promising discussion, the decision was to keep the AV Distinction within the remit of the Film, Video and Multimedia category. We will continue to press for a reversal of this.

Edgar is standing down as Director of the IAVF, so for the 2025 event we will be needing a new organiser. If you would like to put your name forward for this position, please let me know.

**Sheila Haycox** – Sheila has done an excellent job in maintaining the AV Group section of the RPS website, keeping it up-to-date with regular and timely updates. Sheila also manages the various contact lists that are required to issue broadcasts and newsletters, and is an invaluable resource.

**Andrew Gagg** – Andrew has continued to bring a professional eye to our graphic design, designing logos, letterheads and Zoom backgrounds to ensure that the AV Group's public face is both appealing and in-line with RPS policies.

**Martin Addison** – when not being a judge on the IAVF jury, Martin is the editor of our electronic newsletter, AV News e-Extra. This has continued to be a useful fill-in between the AV News issues, providing timely information about forthcoming AV events and the results of recent competitions.

**Keith Watson** – Keith has done an sterling job as Secretary, keeping the rest of us on our toes for the various reports and agenda items needed for the Group committee meetings.

Hopefully at the AGM we will have several new Committee members who can bring fresh eyes to the Group's activities in the years ahead.

Ian Bateman FRPS Chair of RPS AV Group