Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.
Find out more
We use cookies and similar technologies to optimise your experience when using this site, to help us understand site usage, and to tailor our advertising on third party sites. Read about Cookies and view our Privacy Policy at the bottom of each page on our website at any time.
RPS Blue Blank Image

Centenary Medal

Instituted in 1993, the Centenary Medal is awarded in recognition of a sustained, significant contribution to the art of photography.  This medal also carries with it an Honorary Fellowship of The Society.

2022 Destiny Deacon
2021 Bruce Davidson
2020 Sally Mann HonFRPS
2019 Sophie Calle
2018 Nan Goldin
2017 Hiroshi Sugimoto
2016 Thomas Struth
2015 Wolfgang Tillmans RA
2014 Steve McCurry HonFRPS
2013 Professor Brian Griffin HonFRPS
2012 Joel Meyerowitz HonFRPS
2011 Terry O'Neill Hon FRPS
2010 Albert Watson HonFRPS
2009 Annie Leibovitz
2008 Martin Parr HonFRPS
2007 Don McCullin
2006 Susan Meiselas
2005 David Bailey HonFRPS
2004 Arnold Newman

2003 Special 150th Anniversary Medal awarded to: Richard Avedon, William Eggleston, Lee Friedlander, David Hockney HonFRPS, Eikoh Hosoe, Don McCullin HonFRPS and Gordon Parks. A President's medal was awarded to The Lord Puttnam of Queensgate CBE and Sir Roy Strong

2002 Elliott Erwitt
2001 Paul Caponigro
2000 Ray Metzker
1999 William Klein
1998 Josef Koudelka
1996/7 Freddie Young
1995 Robert Delpire
1994 Cornell Capa
1993 Sebastião Salgado