Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.
Find out more
We use cookies and similar technologies to optimise your experience when using this site, to help us understand site usage, and to tailor our advertising on third party sites. Read about Cookies and view our Privacy Policy at the bottom of each page on our website at any time.
RPS Blue Blank Image

Fenton Medal

This award is named after Roger Fenton, one of The Society’s founders and then for several years its Honorary Secretary. The award is made to a member or non-member who has made an outstanding contribution to the work of The Royal Photographic Society. Usually, no more than three or four Fenton Medals are awarded each year.  Since 1998 this award carries Honorary Membership of The Society.

2021 Mary Crowther ARPS, Mark Reeves ARPS, Stewart Wall ARPS, Rex Waygood and Peter Hayes FRPS
2020 Dr Tony Kaye ASIS FRPS, Armando Jongejan FRPS, David Osborn FRPS 
2019 Lesley Goode, Clive Haynes FRPS, Alastair McGhee ARPS, Roy Robertson HonFRPS
2018 Geoff Blackwell ARPS, Ken Grier, Mrs Ann Lanagan, Dr Ann Miles FRPS
2017 Colin Harding, Brian Liddy, Donald Stewart FRPS, Rosemary Wilman HonFRPS
2016 John Bebbington FRPS, Professor Hermon Dowling ARPS, Professor Paul Hill MBE, Professor Andrea Liggins ASICI FRPS, John R Simpson ARPS
2015 Anne Cassidy FRPS, Paul Goodman, Leo Palmer FRPS, Mark Buckley-Sharp ARPS
2014 Andy Finney, Sue Harper, Jenny Leathes ARPS, Robert Tapper ASIS FRPS
2013 Dr Afzal Ansary ASIS FRPS, Alan Elliott ARPS, Dawn Osborne FRPS, Dr Tim Rudman FRPS
2012 Philip Ellis ASIS FRPS, Dr Michael Hallett FRPS, Jack Jackson FRPS, Ray Spence FRPS
2011 Des Clinton FRPS, Jim Moreland FRPS, Professor Francis Ring ASIS FRPS, Dr Barry Senior Hon FRPS
2010 Ian Bailey LRPS, Julian Comrie FRPS, Professor Ralph Jacobson ASIS HonFRPS, David J Wood ARPS
2009 Sara Beaugeard, Robert F Rowe, Nicholas J Scott, Roger Tooth, Jeff Vickers MBE FRPS
2008 John Chamberlin FRPS, Peter Sephton Coles FRPS, Tom Dodd FRPS, John Page HonFRPS
2007 Carol Agar, John Hankin LRPS, Dr Robin Jenkin ARPS, Brian Steptoe FRPS, Tony Wharton FRPS
2006 Andy Golding, Professor Mark Haworth-Booth Hon FRPS, Alan Millward FRPS, Tony Troman ARPS
2005 Sandy Cleland FRPS, Richard Sadler FRPS, Margaret Salisbury FRPS, Keith Suddaby FRPS
2004 Andy Callow, D H O John, Keith Lawrey, Dr A Sethna
2003 Jane H Black, Ron Frampton, Robert F Moore, Jerry Wooldridge
2002 Bryn Campbell, Roger Reynolds, Dr Michael Christianson, Roy Green
2001 John Long, Ossie Morris, Bill Wisden
2000 Joan Wakelin, Jon Richardson
1999 Dr Peter Agius, Dr Akira Aoki, David Tay Poey Cher
1998 Dr Michael Austin, Tony Hilton, Tan Lip Seng
1996/7 Brian Bower, Dr Michael R Pointer, Anthony J Waterlow
1995 Gustav Ahrens, Colin Balls, H S Fry
1994 Margaret Hodge, Mervyn Leonardo de Calcina-Goff
1993 Edward Bowman, Hilary Graves, Matheson Beaumont
1992 Peter Wilkinson, Desmond Groves, Kay Gordon, David Nellist
1991 Anne Bolt, Barry Mead
1990 Arthur Downes
1989 David Dearnley, Pat Hallett, Prof M Harker, E Pothecary
1988 R Brightman, Herbert Dennis
1987 J D J Cole, R H Mason, G Smith
1986 R J Cox
1985 John Bardsley
1984 Sam Welford
1983 L Bowcock, Sir George and Lady Pollock, Eve Ritscher
1982 E Nicholson
1981 C Morris
1980 E J Moorfoot, R Boyes, K Warr