Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.
Find out more

Please note: RPS House is closed for our exhibition install. We will be open again from 10am on Friday 9th August 2024.

RPS Blue Blank Image

J Dudley Johnston Medal

An award for major achievement in the field of photographic criticism or the history of photography. It is awarded for sustained excellence over a period of time, or for a single outstanding publication. Named after The Society’s former President and Honorary Curator 1924-1955.

2022          Professor Emeritus Liz Wells
2021          Professor Emeritus Helen Ennis
2020          Professor Elizabeth Edwards
2019          Zhuang Wubin
2018          Gerry Badger
2017          Professor Francis Hodgson
2015          Roger Hargreaves
2014          Dr David Campany
2013          Martin Barnes
2012          Dr Anthony Bannon
2011          Sean O'Hagan
2010          A D Coleman
2009          Matthew Butson
2008          Gail Buckland
2007          Roger Taylor (Photohistory)
2006          Gerhard Steidl (Photohistory) and Martin Harrison (Curatorship)
2005          Ian Jeffrey (Photohistory) and Professor David Mellor (Curatorship)
2004          Colin Harding (Photohistory) and Val Williams (Curatorship)
2003          Dr Sara Stevenson
2002          Dr Mike Weaver
2001          Bill Jay
2000          Colin Westerbeck
1999          Vicki Goldberg
1998          Dr Larry Schaaf