Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.
Find out more
We use cookies and similar technologies to optimise your experience when using this site, to help us understand site usage, and to tailor our advertising on third party sites. Read about Cookies and view our Privacy Policy at the bottom of each page on our website at any time.

Notice: Our website is currently undergoing updates, during which time event bookings, user logins and membership registration and renewals are unavailable. Find out more.

Eleri Griffiths
CREDIT: Eleri Griffiths

Joan Wakelin Bursary

Administered by The Society in partnership with The Guardian. The Joan Wakelin Bursary offers £2000 for the production of a photographic essay on an overseas social documentary issue.

The Bursary was established in 2005 in memory of distinguished documentary photographer and Honorary Fellow of The Society, Joan Wakelin. The Bursary is administered by The Society in partnership with The Guardian and offers £2000 for the production of a photographic essay on an overseas social documentary issue.

In addition to the funding you will also be able to claim your portfolio printed by Metro Imaging and a portfolio review with their Creative Director Prof Steve Macleod.

The Bursary funds new projects only. We do not support on-going projects. The Bursary does not support projects requiring travel to or within war zones. 

Entries are free and open to all, of any age or nationality.


Closes 11 July 2022

Click here for the Joan Wakelin Bursary details PDF. 

To apply click here

2022 Selectors - Fiona Shields, Head of Photography at the Guardian and Roger Tooth FRPS, past Head of Photography at the Guardian.

If you need any further information please email

Previous recipients

2005  Michael Nott

2006  Charlie Stewart

2007  Brijesh Patel

2008  Jackie Dewe Mathews

2009  Anastasia Taylor-Lind

2010  Yevgenia Byelorusets

2011  Neil Hall

2012  Oliver Wood

2013  Eleri Griffiths

2014  Manuela Henao Restrepo

2015  John Gallo

2016  Matilda Temperley

2017  Alice Mann

2018  Silvana Trevale

2019  Henri Kisielewski

2020  Judy Ford LRPS

2021  Supratim Bhattacharjee