Your web browser is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.
Find out more
Dafna Talmor
CREDIT: Dafna Talmor

The Royal Photographic Society Awards

The world's longest running photography awards. Next call for nominations opens November 2023.
Edward Fry Copy
CREDIT: Edward Fry

RPS Awards 2023

The RPS Awards are offered annually to individuals who have made significant contributions to the art and science of photography.

The categories span different genres and applications of photography, including the recognition of achievements in moving image, new media, science and imaging, education, and curation. The categories continue to evolve to reflect new ways of seeing, making, and sharing photography.

Nominations for the Combined Royal Colleges Medal remain open until 1 May.

Nominations for all other RPS Awards 2023 are now closed. Thank you for your nominations.

Find out more about this year's categories →

Submit your nomination for 2023 →

Discover more about last year's Awards recipients

Since 1878 the RPS Awards have recognised significant individuals working across both the still and moving image, as well as those using photography.

The Awards celebrate significant achievements, showcase new and emerging talent, and highlight notable contributions; they also recognise the work of RPS volunteers who help deliver its programmes.

The 2022 recipients tell remarkable stories, and their work is a testament to the power of photography to inspire, uplift, incite change and bring about personal, social, and cultural wellbeing.

Join us as we celebrate the 2022 recipients, including Destiny Deacon, Laia Abril, Craig Easton, Hoda Afshar, Craig Atkinson and Howard Greenberg.

Download the press release →

Ming Smith
CREDIT: Ming Smith

Online talks

An ongoing series of free talks with recipients of the RPS Awards.

We’ve invited photographers and artists working across all genres of image-making to discuss their practice and inspirations. The conversations will be led by those who know the award recipient well and are followed by a Q&A.

See upcoming events
RPSNOVDEC20221024 1

Journal Awards issue

Learn more about the outstanding work of our 2022 Awards recipients in this special, free edition of the RPS Journal. Featuring interviews with Nadine Ijewere, Hoda Afshar, work by  Ming Smith, a celebration of RPS member achievements, and more.

If you enjoy reading this issue of the Journal, learn more about RPS membership here.

Read here
Carly Clarke
CREDIT: Carly Clarke

Previous recipients

The RPS have awarded outstanding contributions and ground-breaking achievements from hundreds of individuals over the past 143 years. Previous recipients include Sally Mann, Steve McCurry, Annie Leibovitz, Sir David Attenborough, Martin Parr and Sir Don McCullin.

Learn more
Werner Herzog
CREDIT: Werner Herzog

Journal stories

Read more about our 2022 recipients in a series of exclusive stories by the RPS Journal

Would you like to be the first to find out what's on at the RPS? Sign up to our newsletter here →

Read more